V K Gaur


Honorary Scientist

Phone: (+91)80-25051931

Fax: +91-80-2522 0392


Contact Form

Send an email. All fields with an * are required.

Other information

Other information:

Prof. Vinod Kumar Gaur

Designation   :   Honorary Emeritus Scientist
CSIR Centre for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation (C-MMACS)
NAL Belur Campus,
Bangalore-560037, India
Phone: (+91)80-25051931
Email:- gaur[AT]

Educational Qualifications

Degree / certificationYearInstitutionSubjects
M.Sc. 1955 Banaras hindu University (Gold Medal)  
D.I.C 1959 Imperial College, London  
Ph.D. 1959 London University  
Post-Doctoral Fellow 1960 Sorbonne University Paris  
       Field of Research 

Academic/Research Experience/Employment

    FromToOrganisationPosition Held
    1996 Till date C-MMACS, Bangalore Honorary Emeritus Scientist
    1996 Till date Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore Distinguished Professor
    1992 1996 C-MMACS, Bangalore Distinguished Professor
    1989 1992 Government of India, Dept. of Ocean Development Secretary
    1983 1989 National Geophysical Research Institute, Hyderabad Director
    1966 1983 University of Roorkee and Dean Research (1978-83) Professor
    1962 1966 University of Roorkee Reader
    1960 1961 National Physical Laboratory, U.K Scientific officer


  Research Publications:- Publications (Over 130 up till 2005)

Awards/Honors Received

  • Fellow, Indian National Science Academy
  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences
  • Fellow, National Academy of Sciences
  • Fellow, Third World Academy of Sciences
  • Fellow, Andhra Pradesh Science Academy
  • Fellow, Indian Geophysical Union
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize(1979)
  • Khosla Research Award of the Univ. of Roorkee(1971)
  • Krishnan Medal of the Indian Geophysical Union
  • Honoris -Causa Doctoral degrees from: **Jawaharlal Nehru Technical University **Andhra University **Banaras Hindu University
  • Award of Excellence of the Ministry of Mines(1996)
  • Flinn Award of the American Geophysical Union (2000)
  • Meghnad Saha Birth Centenary Medal of the Indian Science Congress(2006)
  • D N Wadia Medal of the Indian National Science Academy, 2007


You are here: Home

Working Hours

Open Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM IST

  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  Fax: +91-80-2522-0392

  Call: +91-80-2505 1920, 2505 1921