TEAM C-MMACS - NEWS AND UPDATES

The greatest strength of C-MMACS is 'Team C-MMACS', the dedicated group that takes C-MMACS foreward. One of the smallest of CSIR laboratories, C-MMACS today is a young and vibrant institution of research, with the average age of its scientists less than 35 years.

Inside

- > Team C-MMACS
- > Awards/Honours/Recognition
- > Services on External Committees/Membership of Professional Bodies
- > Deputations

Staff Positions

Scientist-in-Charge

Upadhya A R (Additional Charge)

Honorary Emeritus Scientist

Gaur V K

Honorary Fellows

Yajnik K S

Scientists

Gangan Prathap (on lien as VC, CUSAT)

Anil Earnest Anilkumar V Goswami P Gouda K C Mohapatra G N Himesh S

Indira NK

Krishna Mohan T R

Malay Mukul
Parvez I A
Patra G K
Rajendran K
Ramamohan T R
Ramesh K V
Rameshan K
Sajani Surendran
Senthilkumar V

Sharada M K Sridevi Jade Surendra Kumar Swathi P S Thangavelu R P Vijayan M S M

Project ScientistsKalyani Devasena C

Junior Research Fellows

Madhukar K

Senior Research Fellows

Swapan Mallick

Fellow

Phani Murali Krishna

Technical Officers

Ananda M B Prabhu N Suchanda Ray

Administrative Officer

Anandan ST

Technical/Administrative Staff

Chandrashekar Bhat Dileep Kumar P

Sita S

Stella Margaret A Udayakumar M

Project Assistants/Graduate Trainees/

Diploma Trainees
Achinta Kumar Gogai
Amit Mohapatra
Anup Kumar Sutar
Archana Singh
Archana C P
Arshiya Namreen

Chitra S

Dinesh Chettri

Indu J

Jagadish Buragohain

Kalpana S Karthik C R Manjushri S Pranjal Nayak Prashant S Priank V Kumar Raghavendra B V

Rajesh P
Remya S
Ranjit Das
Rekha Bharali
Sandhya Venkat
Shashank Naik
Sesha Sowmya K
Shamik Chakraborty
Shib Shankar Paul



Sonia B
Subrato Das
Suhas K C
Vidya V
Vidyasagar Mysorenath
Vishnuvardhan B B
Vivek Jagadish Chandra
Vijayathi Saravanan
Vishalakshi J

Awards/Honours/Recognition

Anilkumar V

Invited by the French National Research Institute in Computer Science and Control [INRIA], France for collaborative research

Services on External Committees/ Membership of Professional Bodies

Anil Earnest

Member, American Geophysical Union. **Member**, Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Member, Asia Oceania Geo-sciences Society.

Anilkumar V

Member, Project Review and Steering Group (PRSG) of Ministry of Information and Communication Technology, Govt. of India External expert member, Scientist and Project Engineer Selection Committee C-DAC, Bangalore

Member, Programme Committee, National Conference on Cryptography and Network Security-2009, Vellore Institute of Technology, 18-19 Feb. 2009

Member, Theses Evaluation Committee, School of Computing, Vellore Institute of Technology

Life member, Computer Society of India

Goswami P

Member Secretary, National Steering Committee for S & T inputs for Management of Hydro-Meteorological Disaster **Life Member**, Indian Meteorological Society **Life Member**, Indian Complex System Society

Member, Executive Council, Drought Monitoring Cell

Member, Computer Committee, ISRO
Regional Climate Modelling Programme
Nodal Officer, Indo-China Bilateral
Cooperation on Weather and Climate
Coordinator, Indo-French Programme on
Research on Weather and Climate
President, Indian Meteorological Society,
Bangalore Chapter

Special Invitee, Scientific Advisory Committee, Ministry of earth science

Gouda K C

Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society

Himesh S

Life Member, Institution of Engineers, India **Life Member**, Indian Society for Technical Education

Life Member, Indian Association for Environmental Management Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society

Parvez I A

Member, Global Earthquake Model Strategic and Planning Committee

Member, Expert Committee for procurement of Broadband Seismometers, Strong motion accelerographs and VSAT connectivity for the permanent seismic stations in Karnataka State constituted by Karnatala State Natural Disaster Monitoring Centre, Department of Science and Technology, Government of Karnataka. Attended several meeting in the year 2008-2009.

Member, Technical Evaluation Committee meeting to procure the 5 sec seismometer and microtremor recorders at Institute of Seismological Research, Gandhinagar **Life Member,** Indian Society of Earthquake Technology (ISET).

Invitee, Advisory committee on Microzonation studies by Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) for the meeting/workshop on Microzonation studies

Indira N K

Member, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, USA

Krishna Mohan T R

Life Member, Indian Complex Systems Society

Malay Mukul

Life Member, Indian Association for Computational Mechanics (IndACM) **Associate Editor**, Journal of Earth System Sciences, Springer and Indian Academy of Sciences

Prathap G

Member, Governing Council, INCOIS, Hyderabad

Member-Secretary, Advisory Committee, C-MMACS

Associate Editor, SADHANA – Journal of Engineering Sciences of Indian Academy of Sciences

Member, Editorial Board, Current Science
Member, CSIR Expert Committee for
Selection of SRFs and RAs (Mathametics)
Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences
Fellow, Indian National Science Academy
Life Member, Indian Society for Theoretical
and Applied Mechanics

Member, Current Science Association' **Life Member**, Indian Society for Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering

Life Member, Indian Society for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation

Patra G K

Life Member, Computer Society of India **Life Member**, Indian Meteorological Society

Life Member, Cryptology Research Society of India

Life Member, Orissa Information
Technology Society
Life Member, Advanced Computing and

Communication Society

Prabhu N

Member, Computer Society of India

Senthilkumar V

Life Member, Indian Association for Computational Mechanics (IndACM) Life Member in Indian society for Advancement of materials and Processing Engineering

Member, International Association of Engineers

Sharada M K

Member, American Geophysical Union

Dr. Sridevi Jade

Life Member, Indian Geotechnical Society
Member, International Society of Soil
Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
Founder Life Member, Indian Society of
rock mechanics and tunneling technology
Expert Member, Programme Advisory
Committee (PAC) & Group Monitoring
Committee (GMC) on Seismicity
Programme, Ministry of Earth Sciences.
Expert Member, National GPS Programme
Expert Group, Ministry of Earth Sciences,
MoES

Expert Member, Women Scientist Scheme expert committee, Department of Science and Technology

Swathi PS

Member, American Geophysical Union Thangavelu R P Life Member, Computer Society of India Life Member, Cryptology Research Society of India



Deputation

Anilkumar V

French National Research Institute in computer Science and Control (INRIA), France, 1 March 2009 -1 March 2010

Gouda K C

The second International Workshop on Prevention and Mitigation of Meteorological Disasters in Southeast Asia, Bandung, Indonesia, 2-5 March, 2009.

Indira N K

Visited IPE, Moscow during 15-27, Sept. 2008 under the ILTP programme in science and technology between India and Russia.

Parvez I A

Attended the Strategic Planning Meeting of the Global Earthquake Model (GEM), Zurich, 14-16 June, 2008

World Agency of Planetary Monitoring and Earthquake Risk Reduction, WAPMERR, Geneva, 17-19 June, 2008.

Visited the Department of Earth Sciences, University of Trieste under Indo-Italian bilateral program. 30 June – 9 July, 2008

Visited the Institute of Physics of the Earth, Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia under Indo- Russian ILTP bilateral program, 14 – 28September, 2008.

Global Earthquake Model 1 (GEM1) kickoff meeting at GeoScience Australia, Canbera, Australia. 28 Fabruary – 8 March, 2009.

Senthilkumar V

XXII International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, Adelaide, Australia, 24-30 August 2008.