# TEAM C-MMACS - NEWS AND UPDATES

The greatest strength of C-MMACS is 'Team C-MMACS', the dedicated group that takes C-MMACS foreward. One of the smallest of CSIR laboratories, C-MMACS today is a young and

vibrant institution of research, with the average age of its scientists less than 35 years.

## Inside

- > Team C-MMACS
- > Awards/Honours/Recognition
- > Services on External Committees/Membership of Professional Bodies
- > Deputations





## **STAFF NEWS**

Scientist-in-Charge Upadhya A R (Additional Charge)

Honorary Emeritus Scientist Gaur V K

Honorary Fellows Yajnik K S

### **Scientists**

Gangan Prathap (on lien as VC, CUSAT) Anand Kumar Anil Earnest Anilkumar V Goswami P Gouda K C Gyanendra Nath Mahapatra Himesh S Indira NK Krishna Mohan T R Malay Mukul Parvez I A Patra G K Rajendran K Ramamohan T R Ramesh K V Rameshan K Sajani Surendran Senthil Kumar V Sharada M K Sridevi Jade Surendra Kumar Swathi P S Thangavelu R P Vijayan M S M

Project Scientists Kalyani Devasena C

Junior Research Fellows Madhukar K

Senior Research Fellows Swapan Mallick

**Research Scholar** Revathi P G

**CSIR Diamond Jubilee Intern** Priya R

#### Technical Officers Ananda M B

Prabhu N Suchanda Ray

Section Officer Girija Sethumadhavan

### Technical/Administrative Staff

Chandrashekar Bhat Dileep Kumar P Sita S Stella Margaret A Seenappa Udayakumar M

### Project Assistants/Graduate Trainees/ **Diploma Trainees** Achinta Kumar Gogai Amarjyoti Goswami Anita A Anup Kumar Sutar Arijit Saha Arshiya Namseen Archana C P Asha Cherian Balaji A Basab Goswami Bishwa Joythi Das Biswadeep Gupta Roy Deepak Prashanth S Deepesh C P Dheeraj D

Deepak Prashanth S Deepak Prashanth S Deepesh C P Dheeraj D Gopal Paul Gyanvikash Gogio Jatin Patar Jayalakshmy P S Kalpana S Kawsar Ahmed Laskar Kiran Kumar Araveti Mintu Dutta Mridula M Naresh Paul Om Prakash Dubey Rajesh P Ramya B R Remya S Ranjit Das



Rekha Bharali Sandha N Saravana Kumar E Selva Kumar N Sesha Sowmya K Shamit Chakraborty Shib Shankar Paul Shruthi T S Sidhartha Sarothi Borah Sivapoornami S Sneha Biswas Subrato Das Sudharshan A Suresh Kumar Kethavai Vidva Y S Vijayathi Saravanan Vishalakshi J

### Awards/Honours/Recognition

Anil Earnest, Ph D Degree, Cochin University of Science and Technology, February, 2008.

**Ramesh K V,** IITM Annual Silver Jubilee Award (awarded in November, 2007) for the scientific research paper entitled "Coupling of Mixed Layer Processes and Thermocline Variations in the Arabian Sea" published in the Journal of Geophysical Research, Vol. 110, 2005, doi:10.1029/ 2004JC002515.

**Ramesh K V**, India Meteorological Society (IMS) Prof. A.D. Vernekar Award (awarded in December, 2007) for the year 2003-04 to the contribution entitled "The abnormal Indian summer monsoon of 2000" published in the Journal of Climate, Vol. 16, 2003, 1177-1194.

**Vijayan M S M**, Ph.D, Gandhigram Rural University, 9th July 2007.

### Services on External Committees/ Membership of Professional Bodies

#### **Anand Kumar**

Member, Society of Rheology

#### **Anil Earnest**

Member, American Geophysical Union. Member, Society of Exploration Geophysicists. Member, Asia Oceania Geo-sciences Society.

#### Anilkumar V

Member, Computer Society of India



C-MMACS Annual Report 2007-2008

#### Goswami P

Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society Life Member, Indian Complex System Society Member, Executive Council, Drought Monitoring Cell Member, Computer Committee, ISRO Regional Climate Modelling Programme

#### Gouda K C

Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society

#### **Himesh S**

Life Member, Institution of Engineers, India Life Member, Indian Society for Technical Education Life Member, Indian Association for Environmental Management

Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society

#### Parvez I A

Life Member, Indian Society of Earthquake Technology, Roorkee

Member, Expert group on Microzonation Map of Bangalore Urban Centre constituted by the Department of Science and Technology, Govt. of India

Member, Bureau of Indian Standards Map Subcommittee, CED 39:4 to prepare a Probabilistic Earthquake Hazard Map of India

Member, Technical Evaluation Committee to procure the 5 sec seismometer and microtremor recorders at Institute of Seismological Research, Gandhinagar

#### Indira N K

Member, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, USA

#### Krishna Mohan T R

Life Member, Indian Complex Systems Society

#### Malay Mukul

Life Member, Indian Association for Computational Mechanics (IndACM)

Associate Editor, Journal of Earth System Sciences, Springer and Indian Academy of Sciences

#### Prathap G

Member, Governing Council, INCOIS, Hyderabad

Member-Secretary, Advisory Committee, C-MMACS Associate Editor, SADHANA – Journal of Engineering Sciences of Indian Academy of Sciences Member, Editorial Board, Current Science

Member, CSIR Expert Committee for Selection of SRFs and RAs (Mathametics)

Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences

Fellow, Indian National Science Academy

Life Member, Indian Society for Theoretical and Applied Mechanics

Member, Current Science Association'

Life Member, Indian Society for Advancement of Materials and Process Engineering

Life Member, Indian Society for Mathematical Modelling and Computer Simulation

### Patra G K

Life Member, Computer Society of India

Life Member, Indian Meteorological Society

Life Member, Cryptology Research Society of India

Life Member, Orissa Information Technology Society Life Member, Advanced Computing and Communication Society

### Prabhu N

Member, Computer Society of India

### Senthilkumar V

Life Member, Indian Association for Computational Mechanics (IndACM)

Member, International Association of Engineers Member, IAENG Society of Industrial Engineering Member, IAENG Society of Mechanical Engineering

### Sharada M K

Member, American Geophysical Union

### Sridevi Jade

Life Member, International Society of Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering

Member, Indian Geotechnical Society

Founder Life Member, Indian Society of Rock Mechanics and Tunneling Technology

Expert Member, Programme Advisory Committee (PAC) & Group Monitoring Committee (GMC) on Seismicity Programme, Ministry of Earth Sciences.

Expert Member, National GPS Programme Expert Group, Department of Science and Technology

Expert Member, Women Scientist Scheme expert committee, Department of Science and Technology

Expert Member, Committee for Preparation of GPS Specifications for Geodetic Applications

### Swathi P S

Member, American Geophysical Union

### Thangavelu R P

Life Member, Computer Society of India Life Member, Cryptology Research Society of India

### Deputation

### Anil Kumar

Deputed to Vancouver, Canada, For attending/ present a paper in the 8<sup>th</sup> Annual Security Conference (CanSecWest 2007), April 16 – April 20, 2007

### Goswami P

Deputed to France for discussion under the Indo-French Programme for Research on Weather and Climate (IFPRWaC), January 08 - January 12, 2008 Deputed to China to participate in a discussion on bilateral co-operation in the area of weather and climate, December 11 – December 13, 2007

### Gouda K C

Deputed to Kyoto, Japan, to participate in the International Workshop on Prevention and Mitigation of Meteorological Disasters in Southeast Asia, March 3 – March 5, 2008

### Imtiyaz A Parvez

Deputed to Italy, to participate in a Bilateral Project Realistic Site Specific Seismic Hazard Assessment for Mega-Cities Utilizing Modeling Techniques, June 27 – August 25, 2007

Deputed to XXIV General Assembly of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG-2007), Perugia, Italy, July 2-13, 2007

### Indira N K

Deputed to LSCE, France to work on the Indo-French CaFICA collaborative programme on Carbon fluxes in India and Central Asia, April 16 – May 26, 2007

### Kalyani Devasena

Deputed to Perugia, Italy to attend IUGG Conference, July 2 – July 13, 2007